India’s Virat Kohli claims top honours at ICC awards | Cricket News


Four England players named in the ODI team of the year for 2018; none in the Test XI

Last Updated: 22/01/19 7:48am

India captain Virat Kohli has become the first player to clinch all three top honours – including cricketer of the year – at the International Cricket Council awards.

Kohli, who recently led India to their maiden Test and one-day series triumphs in Australia, was also voted Test and ODI player of the year as the world governing body unveiled its annual awards, chosen by former players and veteran journalists.

The 30-year-old, who first came into the limelight when he led India to victory at the U19 World Cup in Malaysia in 2008, finished 2018 as the top-ranked batsman in Tests and ODIs.

Virat Kohli led Australia to an historic win in Australia

Virat Kohli led Australia to an historic win in Australia

During the calendar year, Kohli scored 1,322 Test runs at an average of 55.08, including five centuries.

He accumulated 1,202 runs in the one-day format, including six centuries.

Kohli was selected to captain the ICC’s Test and ODI sides for a second year running.

The team, in name only, comprises the best players from around the globe.

Aaron Finch was also recognised at the ICC awards

Aaron Finch was also recognised at the ICC awards

Australia opener Aaron Finch won the Twenty20 performance of the year award for the second time for his 172 – the highest-ever individual T20 score – against Zimbabwe in Harare last July.

India’s Rishabh Pant was named emerging player of the year, while Scotland batsman Callum MacLeod took home the associate cricketer of the year trophy.

Pant, 21, became the first India wicketkeeper to score a Test century in England, and equalled the record for the most catches taken in a Test, with 11 in Adelaide in December.

Four England players were named in the ICC’s ODI team of the year for 2018, however none made it into the Test XI.

ICC Test team: Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India, cap), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India, wk), Jason Holder (West Indies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan).

ICC ODI team: Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India, cap), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England, wk), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Jasprit Bumrah (India).

Play Super 6

Predict 6 correct scores for your chance to win £250K.


Source link Sports

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap